Tags

Another really good NXT Takeover, not that that is a surprise or anything. That being said, I’m not sure it’s one of the better ones. While it was really good, right now I’m not feeling the “OMG I just watched something amazing” like I would’ve said about it last year. I think, even though NXT still has some really good people in it, I’m not really in love with anyone that’s there at the moment, outside of a few. Samoa Joe, yes, but he should be called up. Nakamura, yes, but he should be called up. Bayley, yes, but she has to be called up. Most of the ones there that I love belong on the main roster now, and until they get there, I like the matches they have but the feeling of me actually rooting for them isn’t as big. I want the old guard of NXT, if you will, to get called up to the main roster, so I can get into the newer people the way I got into the old guard. Like, the only ones there that have been there a while I still want there right now are the Revival, Ciampa and Gargano, and Asuka. And I don’t want them there terribly long, but there’s still a bit that can be done in NXT for them. Aries and Roode should only be there a little bit longer too. And put some of the people who were called up too soon back.

Austin Aries vs. No Way Jose opened the show. It was a decent match, I suppose. I was expecting Jose to win but was pleasantly surprised that Aries won. Thank God. I don’t know if I’ll ever care about No Way Jose. This was really going to be a test for him to see if I’ll ever really get into him – I always feel like I need a match of this length to see what a talent can do instead of what I see on the weekly tv show, and I wasn’t super impressed.

After the match, Aries put the Last Chancery back on Jose and Hideo Itami came out to help, and he hit the GTS on Aries. I’m happy that happened – I know before he was injured he was teasing it and all, but since he was out for so long, I feel like there’s no need to keep teasing it. It was time to cut the shit and here we are. Itami lost so much time, there’s no need to waste dragging the GTS tease out anymore. Although this being his return would’ve been better.

Ember Moon’s debut against Billie Kay was great. I liked that Billie got a decent amount of offense in even though it was clearly a showcase match for Ember. And everything about Ember was great. Entrance, music, finisher, etc. And obviously the finisher was what we knew about her to begin with – I was glad that she had a setup handspring elbow in the corner first, because I think that, unless she’s already on the top rope, it would be a little hard to set that finisher up from two people being standing in the middle of the ring. Anyways, Ember’s great, pretty clear she’s going to be the one to take the belt off of Asuka.

Bobby Roode vs. Andrade Cien Almas was pretty good, but I’m not sure it was much to write home about. Almas really hasn’t been built much since he’s only been on NXT since the beginning of June. There really hasn’t been enough time to get invested into him before Roode debuted and now we have to want to see Almas beat him. And Roode’s finisher leaves something to be desired.

The match of the night for me was the tag team championship match between the Revival and Gargano and Ciampa. It was so damn good. It’s sad to me that there are people out there that think the Revival suck when they are so damn good. They’ve had multiple great matches with SAWFT and with American Alpha, and this match with Gargano and Ciampa was no different. And I’m not surprised – I was most looking forward to this match out of anything on this show. And I was rooting so hard for Gargano and Ciampa and that false win got me. It’s even bullshit because the ref counted to three before calling it off when he saw the foot on the rope. But this match was so good – I can’t praise it enough.

Asuka vs. Bayley was really good, although at no point did I really feel like Bayley had a chance to get the title back. And rightfully so – she belongs on the main roster, and I wouldn’t be able to get into her winning the belt back at all. It’s probably the only possible result from this show that would legit piss me off. I love Bayley, but until she’s on the main roster, my interest isn’t there because there’s legit nothing for her to do there anymore. And, if ever there was proof that she’s done with NXT, just watch the postmatch. It’s obvious that this was her sendoff, like Dallas was Sami’s. Asuka hugs her and leaves her in the ring to get a standing ovation, she hugs Sasha, Becky, and Charlotte in the crowd, then her mom, and then Izzy, before leaving and pointing at the NXT sign on the entrance ramp. That’s all for her. She’ll be on Raw on Monday, probably, even though a Sasha/Bayley feud to me right now would be too early.

And Joe vs. Nakamura was really good, but I don’t think I was as invested in it as I should have been. I felt a little distracted and I’m not sure why. Nakamura’s entrance was awesome though. And Nakamura won which I’m not surprised by – and it’s hard to be really mad when someone worthy wins a title – but I did want Joe to win. The only title change I wanted was the tag titles. But oh well, I guess.

Overall it was another really good show, even if there were a few things I’d have liked done differently.

#LaterMarks #ButImNotWrong #LunaticFringe #StraightEdgeMeansImBetterThanYou #FollowTheBuzzards #IAmTheEaterOfWorlds #WalkWithTheReapers #AJIsTheBestDivaInTheWorld #PaigeIsTheBloodyDivasChampion #InZayn #BalorClub #SashasTheBoss #FightOwensFight #BecauseHesAFatherDamnit #WelcomeToTheWasteland #SAWFT #BayleysGonnaHugYou #JoeIsGonnaKillYou #ReadyWillingAndGable #BAMF #BlissedOff #SAVE_US #JerichoInventedEverything #NewDayWillFightYourChildren #CeroMiedo #SamoaJoeHasAn8AndaThirdPercentChance #ReyIsLifeReyIsLove #BaddestBitchInTheBuilding #CesaroSection #JohnnyRudo #SuicidalAngel #ImNotAManImAMachine #IsItOctoberYet? #IsItSeptemberYet?

!bye

-Mzrc-

