Tags

Payback 2016
What a difference a month makes. There was, like, no hype for WrestleMania, but there’s plenty for Payback. Especially for me because I’m going to it. With the NXT talent brought up, a lot of it is fresh matches. It’s not without its problems here and there, but I’m looking forward to it unlike any of the past two PPVs.

Preshow
WWE U.S. Championship
Kalisto (c) vs. Ryback

Kalisto vs. Ryback
Someone please tell me why the U.S. Title has been the preshow three PPVs in a row now? Someone tell me how this is even continuing. Ryback lost to Kalisto at Mania (preshow) and has no claims to a rematch. I know he went face first into an exposed turnbuckle but it wasn’t done intentionally. It’s Ryback’s fault the pad came off anyway. Also, there was no interaction between these two for at least a week and a half after Mania – there’s really no excuse why they’re wasting Kalisto with this. They’ve had two good matches, but there’s really no point in more.

Prediction: Kalisto

Vince McMahon’s Announcement
Vince McMahon's Announcement
So, we’re doing another talking segment on a PPV? Why? I don’t want to see that. This isn’t Raw. What could he possibly say that’s PPV announcement-worthy? Just picking one or the other isn’t good enough to put this on PPV and a brand split doesn’t work when you don’t have enough talent for it. So, what exactly? I’ve heard that this could possibly close the show, too, which is kind of a joke. They’re worried that the main event outcome could displease the crowd so much that they need this to make sure the crowd gives a positive reaction at the end? What outcome could potentially be that bad that they could think that way? I mean, at no point have I expected A.J. Styles to win the title from Roman Reigns so a straight up Reigns win isn’t going to be anything I’m not expecting. We’ll discuss the match more later. All this is doing is taking away time from the matches that are already on the show and taking away time for another match or two that I want to see. Becky Lynch vs. Emma was a thing for a week and a half. Where did that go? I wanted to see that. I was looking forward to that more than half of the other matches. I bought a ticket to this show for Becky Lynch and Sasha Banks and neither are on this show at the moment. I was expecting one of them at least. And Paige. But you know, can only have one women’s feud at once apparently – we’re supposed to be making progress in the division and while we have, we still only get one storyline at once.

Dolph Ziggler vs. Baron Corbin
Dolph Ziggler vs. Baron Corbin
But hey, at least I get Baron Corbin on the show. There are a decent number of stories happening right now which is nice, so it’s not a surprise the some could get lost because of time constraints. This was something I didn’t expect to get on here. There’s no doubt in my mind that Corbin wins, obviously. Dolph sadly has nothing really to do in this company and I don’t see them ever giving him what he deserves at this point. It’s a damn shame.

Prediction: Baron Corbin

WWE Intercontinental Championship
The Miz (c) vs. Cesaro

The Miz vs. Cesaro
So glad Cesaro is back. Thankfully most of the injured part of the roster should be back in the next couple of months, actually. (Cena back end of May, Rollins could be back then too. Bray in a month, Neville not long after. Orton should be back soon.) And while I’ve never been a Miz fan, I think him having Maryse with him will be good for him. I think her presence completes his act. And Cesaro is James Bond, confirmed. That should at least make this match interesting. I would love Cesaro to win but I feel like they’re going to drag this out a bit. Also, at Battleground 2014 weren’t we all expecting Cesaro to win the battle royal for vacated IC title after Jack Swagger intentionally injured Bad News Barrett but The Miz won it instead? Random trivia.

Prediction: Cesaro by DQ

WWE World Tag Team Championship #1 Contender’s Tournament Finals
Sponsored by Booty-O’s
SAWFT vs. The Vaudevillains

SAWFT vs. The Vaudevillains
Hurray NXT represent! SAWFT is finally here (even though they should’ve been here months ago) and it is awesome. Enzo aka Smacktalker Skywalker with a micsaber for a hand is hilarious and I want him to tear down everyone on the roster. On the other hand, while I’ve always liked the Vaudevillains on NXT, them on the main roster….I still don’t think it’s going to work. This really should have been Blake and Murphy with Alexa Bliss – it would be so much better. Blake and Murphy have been doing nothing in NXT since they lost the tag titles in August – come on man. I like them more and they’re more entertaining. Oh well, I guess. I’m kind of sad New Day doesn’t have a match but I’m positive we’ll at least see them make an entrance here which is more important. I think the Dudleyz are going to cost SAWFT the match, leading to them having a tables match at Extreme Rules.

Prediction: The Vaudevillains

Dean Ambrose vs. Chris Jericho
Dean Ambrose vs. Chris Jericho
Hey does everyone remember Ambrose bumping into Jericho at the end of that match with the Wyatts at Night of Champions because he was mad Jericho lost them the match? Well, I do. Anyways, this feud has been entertaining and I’m sure the match will be too.

Prediction: Dean Ambrose

WWE Women’s Championship
Charlotte (c) vs. Natalya

Charlotte vs. Natalya
Hey look, guys, in a surprisingly progressive and positive move, WWE got a new Women’s Title that’s actually called the Women’s Title, not something that’s sexist because it refers to them as divas and has a butterfly on it, and they’re done calling women divas. Wonderful! So now that means we’re going to have matches for this title based on women’s talent, and not their looks like we used to, and definitely not because of the former male stars that they’re related to, right? Right? RIGHT????? Ugh. One day, guys…One day we’ll get there. Like, what is Natalya even doing here? Becky lost the triple threat so she’s the back of the line. But the person Charlotte most recently beat in a title match before WrestleMania was Natalya at Roadblock so Natalya is right there in front of Becky. She has no claims to this match at all. This is Sasha’s match, end of story. Sasha did not lose the triple threat match so she is number one contender. That’s how it works. So, what, are we saving the big women’s matches for the big shows only? So Sasha/Charlotte won’t happen until SummerSlam, a rematch at Survivor Series, and then Sasha/Bayley at Mania next year? And we’re just going to have filler between now and SummerSlam? I mean, there’s no way Natalya’s going to win the title – her time as being anything relevant is long since gone. So why are they forcing us to sit through this? I know I’m not the only one who got a sickening feeling in their stomach when Natalya was the one who got back in the ring with a mic the night after Mania and not Sasha or Becky or Paige or Emma or almost any of the other ones. And by not alone, I mean you should go listen to the podcast TWITWOW on Youtube because they were in possibly even more pain than I was. The Natalya rants they go on are great. My thoughts on Natalya are that she’s the absolute worst. Not in terms of wrestling, but she just gives off this massive aura of smug entitled douchiness and it’s painful. And again, when Charlotte’s the one carrying the feud on a microphone it’s a scary thing to behold – but apparently they keep putting her with people who can’t talk every other month like Nattie or Brie so that’s what we get. Ric being around still is annoying and Bret Hart doesn’t even want to be here. Literally, he wants nothing to do with being on tv – just go read the interview he did saying so. And, I mean – he called the Mania card the worst he’d ever seen, but WWE wants him on the next PPV?? LOL. And if WWE is calling this “Heiresses fighting for the throne” then at least be consistent enough to also include Paige and her mom. Seriously, get your shit together WWE. I mean, everyone saw the Bret being in Nattie’s corner thing coming a mile away – TWITWOW predicted it two weeks before it happened. In fact Ashton predicted it before the feud was even a thing, the night of WrestleMania to be exact – I believe he said something like obviously WWE thinks it would take a man to knock out Flair on the outside for good so they’re going to need Natalya to bring in Bret to do that. And again, I could live with this if I was getting the Becky/Emma match I was promised. And while we’re at it, Sasha/Paige. Why, you ask? Well, why the fuck not? Sasha, Becky, and Paige are three of the biggest reasons that make me turn on Raw every week, so I shouldn’t be stuck with only one of them a week. Anyways, it’s really sad when I have to rood for Charlotte – because while she is good, of the NXT girls she’s easily the weakest while WWE would have you believe she’s the best because of her last name. I don’t want her to fail or anything but there are just better options. She has her place, and her place is above Natalya’s so at least for the entirety of this feud, go Charlotte go!

Prediction: Charlotte

Sami Zayn vs. Kevin Owens
Sami Zayn vs. Kevin Owens
I get to see a Sami Zayn vs. Kevin Owens match live guys! Yes! All of my yes. And I don’t even care who wins! It’s nice to not have to worry about that and it’s nice to not have to sell why a match is going to be great. All you need to know is the names involved. And really I’m not sure who will win, either. But this isn’t going to be their only match, so I’m inclined to believe Owens will win unless Sami gets a roll up win or something.

Prediction: Kevin Owens

WWE World Heavyweight Championship
Roman Reigns (c) vs. A.J. Styles

Roman Reigns vs. A.J. Styles
This isn’t a bad match. This isn’t a good match. But it is the WWE World Heavyweight Championship match on this card. And I think it should be good or at least entertaining – that first part was just to mess with Roman Reigns’s one liner. The feud is who is Bullet Club working for and I think we’re all smart enough to know who they’re working for with what’s been going on in the past few weeks. So Reigns will retain because of the Bullet Club interference and we’ll see what we’re expecting.

Prediction: Roman Reigns

I’m really excited for this show which I wasn’t sure I was going to be a month ago, so good job in making a good looking show. Just make sure to make the right booking decisions and we’ll have the best PPV of the year so far.

#LaterMarks #ButImNotWrong #LunaticFringe #StraightEdgeMeansImBetterThanYou #FollowTheBuzzards #IAmTheEaterOfWorlds #WalkWithTheReapers #AJIsTheBestDivaInTheWorld #PaigeIsTheBloodyDivasChampion #InZayn #BalorClub #SashasTheBoss #FightOwensFight #BecauseHesAFatherDamnit #WelcomeToTheWasteland #SAWFT #BayleysGonnaHugYou #JoeIsGonnaKillYou #ReadyWillingAndGable #BAMF #BlissedOff #SAVE_US #JerichoInventedEverything #NewDayWillFightYourChildren #CeroMiedo #SamoaJoeHasAn8AndaThirdPercentChance #ReyIsLifeReyIsLove #BaddestBitchInTheBuilding #CesaroSection #JohnnyRudo #SuicidalAngel #ImNotAManImAMachine

!bye

-Mzrc-

