Tags

Over the past week or so, I thought it would be amusing if I made a list of all of the wrestling shows I’ve been to in my career as a wrestling fan. And also, to see if I could name the main events of those shows at the same time – and name anything about those shows that I can remember. With the assistance of a website I found called historyofwwe.com, I was able to find all of the results from the Allstate Arena ever. I was surprised to find that, while it feels like I’ve been to basically all of the shows since I started watching outside of a few I know I missed, there were actually multiple ones I missed that I didn’t even remember. Most of those are in the earlier years. I’m only listing ones I’ve gone to, obviously – and you’re going to have to trust me that when I came up with the list, I remembered the main event of basically all of them barring a few. As it turns out, I’m going to Raw this Monday, and it will mark my thirtieth WWE show. (So 2 1/7 shows per year….)

Show #1: Smackdown December 4th, 2001

The main event was The Rock and Stone Cold vs. Kurt Angle and Chris Jericho. My first WWE show, and it’s probably the only time I’ve seen Rock and Stone Cold wrestle. I’ve seen Rock at least one other time, but he didn’t compete. It may be the only time I’ve seen him before 2011. I imagine Austin was at the show I went to in 2003 but he wasn’t competing anymore. The only other parts of this show I remember were Rock shoving Vince McMahon’s face into Rikishi’s ass and during the commercial breaks, some chick in the lower level kept flashing people.

Show #2: Smackdown June 25th, 2002

I originally had this main event listed as Chris Jericho vs. Edge in a Cage match but I knew that wasn’t right, because that’s contradictory to my knowledge that this was the show that Edge returned from an injury after being gone a month, and attacked Chris Jericho after he faced Hulk Hogan in the main event. I realized it was wrong because my main memory of this show is going with my sister, dad, and friend, and my sister had a sign for Edge whom she swore he pointed at when he celebrated.

Show #3: Raw September 29th, 2003

The main event was Rob Van Dam defeating Christian in a ladder match for the Intercontinental Championship. I don’t know if RVD won the belt or retained it. The only thing I can remember about this show specifically was that our seats were somewhat behind the titantron, and when you can’t see the screen, you can’t see when Kane is coming, and when you can’t see when Kane is coming, you can’t brace for his pyro, and when you can’t brace for his pyro, you will have the fuck scared out out of you. Don’t have the fuck scared out of you, sit where you can see the Titantron.

Comment if you get it.

Show #4: Smackdown June 15th, 2004

Main event was Rob Van Dam and John Cena vs. Booker T and Rene Dupree. Undertaker interfered. Fairly uneventful.

Show #5: Raw October 18th, 2004

The main event was Edge vs. Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Benoit. The only memory of this show was a fight with my father before the show. I was going with a friend and his mom, both of them had tickets a few rows ahead of me. Me, being the bigger wrestling fan and knowing that his mom was going mainly just as a way of getting us there, was annoyed when said friend refused to let me sit with him and have his mom sit in the seat I had so I could be closer. I don’t know exactly what the hell I wanted out of my father – probably to help convince my friend/friend’s mother to change it, as looking at it now, trying to get a ticket next to them and exchanging would seem dumb as fuck – but it led to him refusing me the ability to watch the PPV at his house the next night (Taboo Tuesday – that time they did a PPV on Tuesday for lolz), and both my friend and his mother were crying when I got into the car to go, so that was a weird time had by all.

Show #6: Smackdown House Show January 5th, 2005

The main event was Undertaker vs. Heidenreich in a casket match. My main memories of this show are of some comment from some guy sitting near me about something being fake, and also, and most significantly, my favorite wrestler, Rob Van Dam, got injured during his tag match, teaming with Rey Mysterio I believe, and he was out until a full year later. I wouldn’t go to a house show because of it for seven years.

Show #7: Smackdown April 12th, 2005

The main part of this show was John Cena revealing the spinner WWE Title. That’s right, that piece of shit debuted in Chicago.

Show #8: WrestleMania 22, April 2nd, 2006

The main event was John Cena vs. Triple H for the WWE Championship. It marked the debut of the “Let’s Go Cena!” “Cena Sucks!” chants. I apologize, because they still happen now and now they’re just annoying. The “Fuck you Cena!” chants have yet to be repeated, though. Anyways, one of the better WrestleManias in recent history. RVD won Money in the Bank which led to him winning the WWE Title, Edge vs. Foley Hardcore match was awesome with diving spears through flaming tables, HBK killed Vince with an Elbow Drop off of a Mega Ladder through a table with a garbage can on his head, Rey won the World Title which was cool for two months although Orton should’ve won it instead. I’d actually met Orton the day before at Best Buy.

Show #9: No Mercy, October 7th, 2007

The main event was supposed to be Randy Orton vs. John Cena for the WWE Championship in a Last Man Standing Match, and it was during Cena’s WWE title reign of doom before he got injured the Monday before this while trying to do a hip toss to Mr. Kennedy and he was forced to vacate the belt at 380 days. Orton was given the title at the beginning of the show, only to lose it to Triple H, who then defended against Umaga, who he was originally going to face on the show, only to face Orton in the main event in a Last Man Standing match and Orton won the title back, so Orton – my favorite wrestler at the time – won the WWE Title for his first real title reign. As much as I was happy with that, I still wish Cena wouldn’t have been hurt so Orton could’ve won it from him so Orton would not only win the WWE Title for the first time, but it’d also end Cena’s reign of doom with a real ending. Also, I got to witness the second and last ever atrocity known as a Punjabi Prison match, Batista vs. Great Khali. And in the first occurrence of WWE’s “Have CM Punk lose to big fat guys in Chicago” period, he faced Big Daddy V. He didn’t lose the ECW Title, but he got flattened.

Show #10: Smackdown March 11th, 2008

The main event was Shawn Michaels and Ric Flair vs. Edge, Chavo Guerrero, Zack Ryder and Curt Hawkins in a Cage Match. Undertaker fought Big Show in a dark match. I think this was a day after I met Maria at Woodfield when she did her…uh…Playboy signing and was super late and I was the last person that got to meet her despite a huge line and she barely said anything.

Show #11: Raw August 18th, 2008

The main event was C.M. Punk vs. Chris Jericho, the first of three of these matches I’ve seen. Punk beat JBL in a dark match after it.

Show #12: Raw January 19th, 2009

The main segment of this show had Chris Jericho begging for his job back, and then Randy Orton famously punting Vince McMahon and it was awesome.

Show #13: Judgment Day, May 17th, 2009

The main event was Edge defending the World Title against Jeff Hardy in a really good match, and it also featured Chris Jericho vs. Rey Mysterio and Shelton Benjamin vs. John Morrison, which were also really good. C.M. Punk vs. Umaga wasn’t bad either, despite WWE being in their “Have CM Punk lose to big fat guys in Chicago” period. Unfortunately I got one of WWE’s 483948349329 Cena vs. Big Show matches too.

Show #14: Raw September 7th, 2009

This was the show I had the most trouble figuring out the main event because I completely forgot it. It was apparently Triple H and Shawn Michaels vs. Randy Orton and Chris Masters (why I don’t know), but the show closed with Orton RKO’ing Cena on a chair. The main part of this show was Bob Barker guest hosting and it was The Price is Raw. And Jericho got berated by Bob Barker, lol.

Show #15: Smackdown April 6th, 2010

The main event was Edge vs. Chris Jericho in a very good match. I’d met Jericho earlier in the day, too.

Show #16: Night of Champions, September 19th, 2010

The main event was a six man battle royal for the WWE Title, Sheamus defending against Edge, Chris Jericho, Randy Orton, John Cena, and Wade Barrett. It was a really good match and Orton (my favorite) won the title again, and it was great. Daniel Bryan won the U.S. Title from Miz and C.M. Punk continued losing to big fat guys in Chicago by losing to Big Show.

Show #17: Raw March 28th, 2011

The main segment was a faceoff between The Rock, John Cena, and The Miz.

Show #18: Money in the Bank, July 17th, 2011

The biggest WWE show in Chicago in history, C.M. Punk defeating John Cena for his first WWE Title and leaving the company with the title.

Show #19: Raw December 26th, 2011

The main event was C.M. Punk vs. Jack Swagger and Dolph Ziggler in a Gauntlet match. I think there was a third person but Punk lost to Dolph so it didn’t get to whomever it was.

Show #20: Extreme Rules, April 29th, 2012

The main event was inexplicably John Cena vs. Brock Lesnar in an Extreme Rules match, where Cena inexplicably won in Brock’s first match back. Meanwhile, C.M. Punk defended the WWE Title in a Chicago Street Fight against Chris Jericho and Daniel Bryan faced Sheamus in a 2 out of 3 Falls Match for the World Title, both amazing matches.

Show #21: Raw September 3rd, 2012

The main event was John Cena vs. Alberto Del Rio in a Falls Count Anywhere, punctuated by C.M. Punk and Paul Heyman’s first appearance together.

Show #22: Smackdown House Show December 26th, 2012

Terrible show outside of a fun surprise main event of The Shield vs. Team Hell No and Ryback, all of which had been on the House Show in Detroit happening at the same time in the beginning of the show, only to close the show in Chicago.

Show #23: Payback, June 16th, 2013

The main event was a god awful 3 Stages of Hell (Regular, Tables, Ambulance) Match for the WWE Title between John Cena and Ryback. Outside of that the show was great. C.M. Punk returned from hiatus to beat Chris Jericho, Dolph made his first and only title defense of the World Title against Del Rio in a really good match that he should’ve won, and A.J. defeated Kaitlyn in one of the best main roster women’s matches in recent memory to start her first, awesome title reign.

Show #24: Raw September 23rd, 2013

The main event was a pretty sweet Elimination Tag Handicap Match with The Shield vs. Daniel Bryan, the Usos, Rob Van Dam, Dolph Ziggler, Prime Time Players, Justin Gabriel, and Zack Ryder.

Show #25: Raw March 3rd, 2014

The main event was Daniel Bryan vs. Batista, where everyone was expecting C.M. Punk and didn’t get it because he was gone. More importantly, Shield vs. Wyatts.

Show #26: Payback, June 1st, 2014

A bad show punctuated by a really good main event, The Shield vs. Evolution in an elimination tag match which was great. The rest was average and I was more interested in finding out the Hawks score in their game 7 with the Kings.

Show #27: Raw September 29th, 2014

The main event was Dean Ambrose and John Cena vs. Randy Orton and Kane.

Show #28: Extreme Rules, April 26th, 2015

The main event of a not very good show was Seth Rollins defending the WWE World Title against Randy Orton in a Cage match.

Show #29: Raw July 6th, 2015

The main event was a really good match between John Cena and Cesaro for the WWE U.S. Title.

Show #30: Raw October 12th, 2015

The main event was Seth Rollins vs. Kane in a lumberjack match.

Show #31: NXT House Show January 16th, 2016

The main event was Finn Balor vs. Sami Zayn for the NXT Championship

Show #32: NXT House Show January 16th, 2016

The main event was Finn Balor vs. Baron Corbin vs. Apollo Crews for the NXT Championship. Also, Sami Zayn vs. Tommaso Ciampa.

Show #33: Payback, May 1st 2016

The main event is Roman Reigns vs. A.J. Styles for the WWE Title. Also, Sami Zayn vs. Kevin Owens.

Show #34: Raw House Show, September 24th, 2016

Fairly uneventful. Highlights were only getting to see Sasha Banks and Bayley, and the main event was Kevin Owens vs. Seth Rollins vs. Sami Zayn for the Universal Title.

Show #35: Raw, December 26th, 2016

Very boring show. The main event was Kevin Owens vs. Roman Reigns for the U.S. Title.

Show #36: Smackdown Live, December 27th, 2016

Great show with three title matches: AJ Styles vs. Dolph Ziggler vs. Baron Corbin, Becky Lynch vs. Alexa Bliss, and the Wyatts vs. American Alpha vs. The Usos vs. Slater and Rhyno.

Show #37: NXT Takeover: Chicago May 20th, 2017

Really good show. The highlights being Tyler Bate vs. Pete Dunne for the UK Championship and DIY vs. Authors of Pain in a ladder match for the tag titles.

Show #38: Backlash, May 21st, 2017

An average show highlighted by Kevin Owens vs. AJ Styles for the US Championship.

The best shows I’ve seen:
Money in the Bank 2011
Extreme Rules 2012
Judgment Day 2009
NXT Takeover: Chicago
WrestleMania 22
Payback 2013
No Mercy 2007

The best matches I’ve seen:
Punk vs. Cena WWE Title
Sami Zayn/Tommaso Ciampa
Tyler Bate vs. Pete Dunne UK Championship
DIY vs. Authors of Pain Ladder Match NXT Tag Titles
Finn Balor/Sami Zayn
AJ Styles/Kevin Owens US Title
All Punk vs. Jericho matches (One was a Street Fight)
Daniel Bryan vs. Sheamus 2 out of 3 falls World Heavyweight Title
Shield vs. Evolution
Shield vs. Wyatts
Shield vs. Bryan, RVD, Dolph, Usos, PTP, Gabriel, Ryder,
RVD vs. Christian Ladder
Orton vs. HHH Last Man Standing
Edge vs. Foley Hardcore
Dolph/Del Rio
Edge/Jeff Hardy
Jericho/Mysterio
Morrison/Benjamin
Edge/Jericho
Edge/Benoit/HBK
AJ Lee/Kaitlyn

The only two other wrestling shows I’ve been to are TNA shows.

Show #1: Bound For Glory, October 12th, 2008

The main event was Samoa Joe vs. Sting for the TNA Title. Interestingly enough, both are in WWE now.

Show #2: Impact, March 14th, 2013

The main event was Sting vs. Austin Aries. It also included tapings for the Impact the following week.

Well, that was amusing. I’ll keep updating this list as I go to more.

#LaterMarks #ButImNotWrong #LunaticFringe #StraightEdgeMeansImBetterThanYou #FollowTheBuzzards #IAmTheEaterOfWorlds #WalkWithTheReapers #AJIsTheBestDivaInTheWorld #PaigeIsTheBloodyDivasChampion #InZayn #BalorClub #SashasTheBoss #FightOwensFight #WelcomeToTheWasteland #SAWFT #BayleysGonnaHugYou #JoeIsGonnaKillYou #ReadyWillingAndGable #BAMF

!bye

-Mzrc-

