Tags

Well that show didn’t go basically at all as I expected it to in terms of results, and I can’t say I’m unhappy about it. Unpredictability is a good thing.

The first result of only two that I correctly predicted was the opening match of Asuka vs. Emma. I thought we’d open with the tag titles but we got this, and I think I like that even more. The tag match was really good too but I think I like that they gave the opener to a women’s match. I think that not only is giving women the main event a sign of progressiveness in a good way, but the opening match being a women’s match is too. (Not on the same level as a main event, but it is.) Anyways, the match was great – as much as you knew Asuka would win, there were some spots where you thought it might go the other way. Asuka makes Emma tap while the ref is distracted, but then knocks Emma the fuck out with a roundhouse kick for the win.

Enzo and Cass vs. Dash and Dawson for the tag titles was next, and this match out of all of them I was surprised to see Dash and Dawson win. I thought if any title change was set in stone, it was this one. But that didn’t happen – so you kind of have to think Enzo and Cass will get called up, because if they weren’t getting the titles here, I’m not sure they’re going to. This match was really good – I think it’s probably Enzo and Cass’s best match, too. And when they hit their finisher I swore it was over, but then Enzo got pulled out of the ring. And then the Shatter Machine off the top rope was absolutely ridiculous. This was possible even the best match on the show – if not I would put it at second best, definitely.

Baron Corbin vs. Apollo Crews was the only other one I correctly predicted, although in my mind I still thought Apollo would win. But I’m happy Corbin won – I think it was high time Corbin really got a big win on a Takeover special (Rhyno doesn’t count) and he got it. And honestly, this match felt like it was pretty much all Corbin. He seemed to dominate Crews most of the match. There were a few hope spots, but in the end, Crews ate the End of Days for the loss. Good match. Also Corbin yelling to Crews that he should have stayed in ROH was funny – apparently he was never even in ROH.

Bayley vs. Nia Jax for the NXT Women’s Championship was better than I expected it to be, and thank heavens Bayley won. I really don’t know how much I buy it and where Nia goes from here after submitting, but fuck it, I don’t care. Nia seemingly destroyed Bayley with several Samoan Drops and several leg drops but they weren’t enough. Bayley gets the Dragon Sleeper in three times – two times she got slammed out of them – but the third time, after quite some time, Nia taps. So where does Bayley go from here is my question. Unless Nia gets a rematch, but she tapped. I don’t know. I’d like to see a match with Emma, but after she lost to Asuka, I don’t know.

And finally, the main event of Jack the Ripper Demon Finn Balor vs. Samoa Joe (or how the name plate said, “Somoa Joe”) for the NXT Championship in a very good match. I’m really not sure how I feel about Joe losing, either. As much as I love Balor, I feel like this was the time to end the title reign. I’m glad Joe never really got the submission he’s been using to choke Balor out on for real (I know the name of the move but I don’t know how to spell it) so at least that move is still protected. It was great – and I can’t be mad at my favorite wrestler winning. I could still see another Balor vs. Joe match, a Balor vs. Corbin match, or a Balor vs. Crews match again soon.

Overall the show was really good – I still think I would’ve preferred one title to change hands, but I’m not mad  that Balor, Bayley, and Dash and Dawson are still champs because I still love them all. The NXT Title or the Tag Titles were the best two matches, and all of the rest were really good to great. Go watch the show! And I’ll be seeing NXT live in Chicago in January HURRAY!

#LaterMarks #ButImNotWrong #LunaticFringe #StraightEdgeMeansImBetterThanYou #FollowTheBuzzards #IAmTheEaterOfWorlds #WalkWithTheReapers #AJIsTheBestDivaInTheWorld #PaigeIsTheBloodyDivasChampion #InZayn #BalorClub #SashasTheBoss #FightOwensFight #WelcomeToTheWasteland #SAWFT #BayleysGonnaHugYou #JoeIsGonnaKillYou #ReadyWillingAndGable #BAMF #SamoaJoeHasAn8AndaThirdPercentChance

!bye

-Mzrc-

