Tags

Alright, time to review tonight’s Extreme Rules PPV. The show as a whole was good. I wouldn’t say it was amazing, but it’s worth watching. I don’t feel like I was cheated out of anything, although if I had to pay $45 for it, I may think otherwise.

The first match was the triple threat match between Cesaro, Rob Van Dam, and Jack Swagger, which I didn’t know until after I wrote my predictions that it was elimination. The match was fun, and Cesaro got the victory. I would’ve liked to see him get both pinfalls, though, to be honest. Regardless, the apronplex into a Five Star was pretty sweet. I got a little confused when they introduced the garbage can, considering that elimination triple threats would make DQ possible, but it was just glossed over. Van Dam got a pretty nasty looking cut from going face first into the edge of the trash can, too. And I’ll be honest, the Neutralizer onto the can looked a little meh to me, probably since it was already broken. Oh well, good match regardless.

Rating: ***

The next match was a boring Handicap Squash match with Alexander Rusev defeating R-Truth and Xavier Woods. They didn’t even make Rusev look strong here at all – he took Woods out before the match and then took all of Truth’s signature stuff before kicking out and winning.

Rating: DUD

Next, Bad News Barrett defeated Big E to win the WWE Intercontinental Championship in a decent match. I enjoyed it, at least. It was a very physical, stiff match, although slow at times. I don’t really have much to say about it, but I did like it. I hope that they go somewhere with Barrett now that he’s the champion – it’s been a long time since that belt has meant something.

Rating: **1/2

Next was what I thought was going to main event, as it was easily the match everyone was most looking forward to, The Shield vs. Evolution. This match was amazing, although I would’ve liked it to go longer, to be honest. I will say that the match seemed a little disjointed, as Ambrose and Rollins brawled with Triple H and Orton through the crowd while Reigns recovered from a Pedigree and an RKO and Batista a Triple Powerbomb, and it lasted for a while. The longer they brawled, the more I feared Batista would be able to get a quick win over Reigns since his backup was gone. Rollins’ dive off the arena entryway was epic. Regardless, Batista tries a Batista Bomb but gets a Superman Punch and a Spear and THE SHIELD DEFEATS EVOLUTION. WOOOOOOOOO!!! My only disappointment was that Triple H did not get a Triple Powerbomb – oh well, that’s to come in the future, I’m sure.

Rating: ****

Next was the Cage Match between Bray Wyatt and John Cena. Ok, Bray Wyatt won, which is good. But let’s be honest here, this was a clusterfuck. I’m not really mad about it or anything, but there was just so much interference from Harper and Rowan, seemingly every two minutes they were stopping Cena from escaping and so on. There was a weird spot where Bray tried to spider walk to the door, where had he tried to walk normally he’d have won. And Harper ended up inside, so the FU off the top rope spot you knew would be broken up by him. And when it finally looks like Cena’s able to escape, the Wyatt jump scare happens, and then we come back to darkness and a kid singing in He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands in a demon voice, scaring Cena into a Sister Abigail. And instead of going for a pin, Wyatt escapes through the door, which was weird. I don’t know – I can’t say I really hated it or anything – but, well, it is what it is.

Rating: *** (That may be generous.)

Next, Paige defeated Tamina to retain her WWE Second Rate Women’s Championship in a decent match. A couple of scary spots that didn’t look so good, honestly, especially when Paige got ran into the barricade. Anyways, Scorpion Cross Lock for the win. Sadly A.J. did not return, but maybe that’s just because it was her hometown crowd and they didn’t want her cheered.

Rating: *1/2

And finally, Daniel Bryan defeated Kane in a good Extreme Rules match to retain the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Knowing that there was no way that Kane would be winning the title in this match (I was more surprised it even main evented), I was able to just sit back and enjoy it for what it was. And I don’t feel let down. I loved the brawling backstage that they did – I feel like it’s been a while since we’ve seen that. A little slowdown when Bryan brought Kane back to the ring on a forklift, but the Diving Headbutt off of the garbage pallet was pretty sweet. We even got a flaming table spot in the match, which I knew was about to happen as you see the guys rushing over with fire extinguishers. I’ll be honest, though, the spot itself was a little lackluster, as Kane just got pushed through it, then the fire extinguisher guys extinguished him to the point of excessiveness – in fact, I’d consider it worse than the fire. Kane gets back in the ring in a cloud, and gets the Running Knee, and that’s the match. Bryan leaves with the titles and Kane sits up and does his pyro, and the show ends with Kane’s music playing, which is weird.

Rating: ***1/2

Overall, the show was good. I didn’t hate anything, but outside of Shield/Evolution, I don’t think there’s anything amazing on the show. But, hey, everyone I wanted to win won, so, I’ll take it.

Overall Rating: ***

#LaterMarks #ButImNotWrong #BelieveInTheShield #StraightEdgeMeansImBetterThanYou #FollowTheBuzzards #IAmTheEaterOfWorlds #WalkWithTheReapers

!bye

-Mzrc-

