Tags

Well, it’s time for another wrestling post of the non-PPV variety. I guess once a month seems accurate for them. It’s like I said before, when things are good, for the most part, it’s almost like there’s nothing to talk about because there’s nothing to complain about. Of course it’s not perfect, but this is the best wrestling, or at least WWE, has been since….I can’t even put a date on it. I’d say since 2008 since I enjoyed most of that year. Smackdown was really good in 09 but Raw was awful, 2010 was awful after Extreme Rules. ’11 was good starting with the pipebomb until Night of Champions, although I did like most of the rest of that year. And 2012 pretty much sucked after Extreme Rules apart from C.M. Punk being champion, and SummerSlam + Night of Champions. So 2008 sounds right, at least in my opinion, because there was a lot I liked in it, at least. But that’s not the point of this blog.

A lot of the problems WWE had have been fixed. Well, unless you’re an attitude era mark that lives in the past, then maybe not. But considering I live in the present, I can say for certain that WWE is good right now. Of course not the best I’ve ever seen it, between 2001-04, but it’s good. Hopefully it lasts.

For those saying Daniel Bryan was buried at SummerSlam, please realize he PINNED JOHN CENA CLEAN. Who else can say that? The Rock…..Um……I can’t think of anyone else in recent memory. Not even C.M. Punk can really say that – I’d still argue MITB ’11 was clean but that’s just me. #YourArgumentIsInvalid

For those bitching about Randy Orton being WWE Champion, just stop. First off, you wanted him as a heel, as did I, am I right? Now he is. And it’s great – he desperately needed it. And maybe now he can climb back up my list of favorite wrestlers from the bottom. But the Orton haters….damn, they will never stop making me laugh at their idiocy. For the people who think Orton is Cena #2, wake up and realize that that ended the second he lost his last World Title to Mark Henry. HE LOST A TITLE TO MARK HENRY OF ALL PEOPLE. You can’t tell me that Mark Henry World Title reign was better than anything Orton ever did, because it was awful. And he had a series of awful matches with Big Show that year, after Big Show was injured by Henry at MITB ’11, and because Big Show thought the fact that his body healed itself, just like any other person’s would, earned him a title match upon return – he got one. Logic, there was none. Please recall how many people Orton has put over since then. Mark Henry, Cody Rhodes, Dolph Ziggler, Wade Barrett, Alberto Del Rio, the Shield, etc. Move on with your hate to someone who deserves it and remember that Orton is actually a good wrestler, in case you have forgotten. Thank you, goodbye.

I know I was against the McMahon storyline going into SummerSlam, but now that the heel turns have happened, and what’s come out of Raw, so far, so good. Daniel Bryan vs. the McMahon Corporate Empire is great, and Bryan will get the belt back, so just give it a rest. As long as Triple H doesn’t want to fuck something up like he did by injecting himself into the Summer of Punk things will be ok.

I also like how they’ve incorporated the Shield with this storyline, because the Shield has been kind of an afterthought recently. I’m glad they finally have more of a direction and hopefully won’t get preshowed anymore.

Dolph vs. the Shield was a nice little match from Monday, and while Dolph had no chance, he still put up a fight, and fuck that Spear was sick.

And then the Shield killed Big Show which is always a good thing. And I’m not a huge fan of the Show and Henry going for the tag titles unless they’re going to lose – and also, as previously mentioned, they hated each other a year and a half ago, and now they’re friends.

So much has changed since the beginning of the year in terms of characters.

Beginning of year:

Faces: Cena, Sheamus, Orton, Del Rio, Ryback, Triple H, Chris Jericho, Daniel Bryan, Kane, the Usos

Heels: CM Punk + Paul Heyman, Dolph Ziggler, Cody Rhodes, Brock Lesnar, Damien Sandow, the Shield, Antonio Cesaro, Big Show, Mark Henry, AJ Lee

Now:

Faces: C.M. Punk, Daniel Bryan, Dolph Ziggler, Cody Rhodes, Kane, Big Show, Mark Henry, Christian, Rob Van Dam, the Usos (Rey Mysterio is returning soon.)

Heels: Randy Orton, Brock Lesnar, Alberto Del Rio, Triple H, All McMahons, Damien Sandow, The Shield, Antonio Cesaro, AJ Lee, the Wyatt Family, Paul Heyman, Ryback

Now’s a lot better, don’t you think? All of the faces are credible and worthy of getting behind (except Show and Henry, perhaps). And all of the heels listed are being used well. And Cena and Sheamus are both injured and will be out 4-6 months, and I hope they recover from their surgeries very well, and that they take their time. It’s best for everyone. (And Jericho is gone)

The only bad in the product right now is that Wade Barrett is irrelevant, The Miz still sucks, and Fandango is pointless. Apparently he can wrestle (according to Punk, so it must be true), but the gimmick has failed. Oh, and Ryback is still terrible.

I do have to mention the Wyatt Family for a second. They frustrate me. They’re such awesome characters and everything about the gimmick is great, but the two non-Bray Wyatt guys just flat out suck. Granted, they haven’t had a real match that wasn’t a squash match, but I’ve seen nothing of note from them so far. And Bray’s matches have been squashes so far, so the jury’s still out on him too, but his finisher is still awesome.

The one thing I’m not particularly happy about right now is whatever the hell they’re doing with Ricardo Rodriguez introducing RVD now. It’s not so much that he’s doing it, it’s the fact that RVD is apparently going to be going for the World Title now. And I just don’t understand why.

Dolph Ziggler is now completely done with the bullshit Big E. Langston feud, and it is time for him to get his World Title back. If he doesn’t have it after Night of Champions, there’s going to be a problem. But the rumor is he’s going to face Ambrose for the U.S. Title – and while that match would be awesome, just no. Dolph was already wasted at SummerSlam, and he doesn’t need to be farther down the card than he should be.

Outside of that, I can kind of smell a C.M. Punk vs. Daniel Bryan for the WWE Championship at WrestleMania right now. I’ve heard Punk’s supposed to win the Rumble, or they were at least thinking about it, so let’s hope that’s true. (And Punk wins. Sorry Bryan marks, Punk is better. I’m sorry he just is!)

As far as TNA is concerned, I’m about as done with it as I can be apart from the fact that I’m still watching it. I have no interest and yet I still watch, and I don’t know why. Sabin lost the belt, Daniels will seemingly never win it despite deserving it more than anyone, and it’s just kind of pointless.

Well, I think that’s all for this post.

#LaterMarks #ButImNotWrong #BelieveInTheShield #StraightEdgeMeansImBetterThanYou #IsItOctoberYet?

!bye

-Mzrc-

