Tags

,

So, I don’t know exactly how this post is going to turn out. It’s another one of those deals where if I don’t feel it’s going well, I’m just going to scrap it altogether. I know this has been announced for a while now, but it still makes me angry every time I think about it. That being the fact that Warehouse 13 is getting only six more episodes before its conclusion. This post is directed at Syfy, or whomever made this careless decision. According to the cast it is not Syfy’s fault, so whomever’s fault it is who will never read this, this is for you.

Now, granted, I know this isn’t going to do anything towards changing anything. I’m just another person complaining on the internet. I know, I know. Even if that sort of thing were possible, it’s already too late. They’ve already begun shooting the final episodes. They can’t just alter their decision and go back to a normal season without having just wasted money to make the episodes they’ve made. (I don’t know how much of it’s made, but that’s really irrelevant.) Anyways, consider this a letter, or something, to the “powers that be.” I wish I could say this would do something, but at least I can try to move on from this afterwards.

Warehouse 13

To whom it may concern:

I write this because I, among many others, am very upset at the decision to end Warehouse 13. Throughout its four seasons, Warehouse 13 has given fans many great moments and memories. After watching it for the first time midway into season two, I was instantly hooked, and it only got better from there.

Sure, I didn’t watch from the beginning, but I have since purchased all of the box sets to go with it. They’re worth every penny. From the premise of the show itself, the compelling characters, and the cast, everything about this show is great.

Being a fan of mystery and adventure made this a very easy show to get into. I’ve watched many great shows in that genre in the past, like USA’s Monk and currently Psych. And while both are great shows, Warehouse 13 combines that with the SciFi genre for a truly unique experience – searching for ‘artifacts’ from many historic figures and/or events that wreak havoc on the world, and the agents having to search for the artifact and determine what it is/does and bringing it back to the Warehouse to keep the world safe. All of this and dealing with various villains that will use the artifacts for their own benefit.

But the best part of the show is the relationships between the characters and them being basically a makeshift family. What makes the show so strong is that it’s very easy to connect to them, and it’s very easy to see how important they are to each other.

A show would be nothing without great characters and also a great cast, and Warehouse 13 has both.

Eddie McClintock plays Agent Pete Lattimer, the lead agent of the Warehouse alongside Joanne Kelly as Agent Myka Bering. Pete and Myka work great together as a team, tracking down artifacts and occasionally catching bad guys (There isn’t always a bad guy – it’s just about removing artifacts). They also balance each other out well – Pete is more of a ‘follow your heart’ kind of guy, as some of his decisions aren’t always that smart, but he does them because he thinks he’s helping his friends. (Example: His exchange with Paracelsus in the most recent season finale when he’s trying to get Paracelsus to help him save Myka.) Pete could do without some of the constant immature humor, though, which is the only real flaw of any character. Myka is more book-smart and more likely to follow a standard procedure in cases. (Part of me wants to mention that their more like brother-sister than coworkers, but I think that that’s implied.)

Saul Rubinek plays Artie Nielson, Pete and Myka’s, along with the other agent’s, boss, and also a kind of father figure to the cast, or at least to Claudia. Aaron Ashmore plays Agent Steve Jinks, a newer addition to the cast in season 3.

All of them are great, but the star who I feel shines the brightest is Allison Scagliotti as Claudia Donovan. Perhaps it’s because her character is the one closest to my age as to why I can connect to her character the most.  Maybe it’s because she reminds me a lot of my sister. I don’t know. Claudia is very smart and very witty. She immediately became my favorite character and watching more episodes only confirmed that not only was Claudia the best character on the show, but also that Allison is a brilliant actress. (I have a feeling many fans would agree.) When I first watched her debut episode (Season 1, Episode 4 ‘Claudia’), I was blown away. And I watched that at least six months after I had started the show and already thought she was amazing. (Another great performance in the episode ‘Don’t Hate the Player.’)

Granted, the following isn’t the actual scene, but it’s the dialogue from the scene in the episode I mean: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2yzF74oaXg

This scene also gets me every time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDWDSHUqaHs

And this one from the most recent episode: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDWDSHUqaHs

Oh, and she can sing too: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgVkQC-ljzg

Well, I could  talk about how brilliant an actress I think Allison is for longer than you’d probably care to read, so I’ll just leave that part with saying that I hope she gets a starring role in something soon after the show is over, whether it be a tv series or movie, it doesn’t matter. She deserves it. (I’ve said it before that I think she could have played Jennifer Lawrence’s role in Silver Linings Playbook and also won Best Actress for it.)

I also felt strongly for Pete when confessing to Myka about a car accident he had gotten into while drunk, injuring one of his friends for life, in a recent episode. I can’t find a clip of that.

I wanted to find a the real clip of this scene, but I couldn’t. But I just found one for Artie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmraM953MvQ

The show has/has had many other great characters such as CCH Pounder as Mrs. Frederic and Jamie Murray as H.G. Wells, and great villains too such as Anthony Michael Hall as Walter Sykes and Roger Rees as James MacPherson. And I’m really liking Anthony Stewart Head as Paracelsus so far.

Anyways, I’m going to move on from that now. I’m going to try to get through the rest of this as calmly as possible – I think I’ve done a pretty good job of keeping this professional (not that I’m a paid journalist of any kind), and not just some kind of rant. And I will keep it that way, but I’m not going to pretend I’m not frustrated. I’m not going to go into a full rant mode which I’m certainly capable of, but that’s not what I want in this.

I personally do not understand how Warehouse 13 gets canceled. There are many other shows on the network that should get the axe before it. Warehouse is easily the best show Syfy has – in the past it has gotten the network’s highest ratings. Sure, it doesn’t now, but there’s a reason for that.

For one, it was moved to a later time slot, the same one Alphas was in, and look what happened with that. It got pushed there because of the new show Defiance, which has apparently been in the works for some time along with some MMO RPG to go along with it. I don’t see the show’s appeal, much like most other show’s on the network – especially when compared to Warehouse. But I suppose that’s personal preference.

Either way, I don’t understand the existence of so many ghost hunter shows, Robot Combat League (even though Chris Jericho is awesome), ridiculous movies such as Sharknado, and wrestling are on Syfy. Now, I’ve been a wrestling fan for many years now, but I do not understand why it’s on Syfy. But I do have to give credit to one of my favorite wrestlers, Cody Rhodes, being on an episode of Warehouse 13 as how I got into the show. If he wasn’t on the show, I highly doubt I’d have ever watched it to begin with. And without Smackdown on Syfy, I doubt that would’ve happened. So, if anything, that makes a case for Smackdown on Syfy. Despite that, there’s plenty of other programming on the network that they could consider dumping to give its best show a one hour time slot a week.

I simply don’t get how, during season 3, they renewed it for season 4. Not only did they renew it, but the renewed it for seven more episodes than a typical season. That in itself is proof to me that it knows Warehouse is its best show. Then, before the second half of the season starts, they released the first episode online two weeks from the premiere. If that’s not an attempt to kill a show, I don’t know what it is. The only thing that might do is kill the rating of the premiere so they can justify canceling the show in the future. This was all premeditated.

Then, after what seemed like forever, they decided to renew the show. For a final season. Of only six episodes. The anger I felt at there only being one more season aside (I had heard rumblings of this around July/August ’12), what was the most ridiculous was it being only six episodes. It would be a hard pill to swallow for the next season to be the last, but I would probably have been able to get over it if they had just given it a full, normal length season. Have some respect at least. What are they so supposed to do and how are they supposed to resolve everything in that amount of time? Really, how does it go from 13 episodes, to 20 episodes, to 6? For a show that you could easily get two, probably three more good seasons out of, this is a mistake.

I wish the fans really did have a voice in this. I wish they had fought even harder for this show. I know the cast has said on Twitter things like ‘It’s not like we’re quitting the business,’ which is true, but we’re not only losing them. Sure, we will see them in other things in the future, but they won’t be together, and the show will be different. As much as I love the cast, Allison especially, it’s not going to be the same on a different show. I do watch them on whatever else I can find them in. (I’ve found Eddie in an episode of Monk, and Saul in an episode of Psych. Allison for Psych, please, by the way!) The odds of them all being on another show together all at once? I’d bet it’s zero. You’ve already struck gold with this show, why would you toss it aside just to make room for a show that happens to have a computer game to go with it? (Just get Warehouse its own game – there’s surely a market for that.)

Also, the the viewership of the show really needs to be considered to be more than just what the nielson ratings say. People are watching shows in multiple different ways now – on the internet on syfy’s website, you can pay to watch them on youtube and itunes, and by dvr, which apparently doesn’t count. This is especially true of Scifi fans. You can’t just say ‘Oh it got a 1.2!’ when there could be tons more views via other means. Better explained by Eddie McClintock here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDMaOB1nBqI

A revelation in the light of day,
You can’t choose what stays and what fades away
Florence + the Machine – No Light, No Light

In a world gone mad, sometimes it’s crazy to fight for what you believe,
But you can’t give up, if you want to keep what you love
Skillet – Rise

Thanks,
-Marc-

EDIT:

This: Warehouse 13 Hug

